www.arcsoft.com Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Need ArcSoft Technical Support? This Users Forum is provided as a free resource for users to exchange ideas and learn how others are utilizing the software but it is NOT a place where you can get ArcSoft technical support. If you have ArcSoft products questions, you can read the general FAQ here or send your question to us through Customer Services.

Source video copyright protected?

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
bludot View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 04 Jul 2011
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote bludot Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Source video copyright protected?
    Posted: 04 Jul 2011 at 4:32pm
I'm trying to capture video from my father-in-law's Canon super 8 camera.
ShowBiz 2 gives me the message "The source video is copyright protected; video capture will not resume.
Why am I getting this message and is there anyway to "fix" the settings so it is recognized that this is a personal video and not copyrighted?Confused
Back to Top
clipperCam View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 Jul 2011
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote clipperCam Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jul 2011 at 9:36pm
Copyright protection is a Record-mode.signal..
The actual recording machine will interpret a code as copy-protect..and dis-continue the record process..
Decribe your cable from one machine to the other..?
Back to Top
bludot View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 04 Jul 2011
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote bludot Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jul 2011 at 1:44am
I'm using a Roxio video capture device (usb)  with componenent cables from the camcorder to the device
Back to Top
Lagoyu View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 Aug 2011
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Lagoyu Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Aug 2011 at 1:19pm
Try this which worked for me - found on another thread:

Originally posted by HenkiePenkie HenkiePenkie wrote:

From another forum: http://www.ezcap.tv/forum/index.php?topic=654.0

Originally posted by www.ezcap.tv/forum www.ezcap.tv/forum wrote:


Do you get the message:
video is copyright protected, video capture will not resume

Even though it is your own home movies you are trying to capture? Why this happens we are not quite sure. Is it a bug? I'm not sure what it is but what we have noticed is every so often a customer will mail us stating this is the message they are getting and capture stops.


........

Below is the fix. This will disable the copyright protection pop up.


>>>>>>>>>>

You have to edit a configuration file.
 
Navigate to:
C:\Program Files\ArcSoft\TotalMedia ShowBiz\com.ArcSoft.CaptureModule\
 
Open "CaptureModule.ini" with notepad. Add "ProtectOn=0" under "[CaptureModule]" and save.
 

.............
 
If it does not let you save, it is because your pc user permissions need to be changed.
Right click on the file, select properties
select "security" at the top
click on "users" and click on the "edit" box
Put a click in all the boxes and click on "apply"
 
Now it will let you edit and save the file.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.093 seconds.

  Find Us on Facebook Get the Latest RSS Alerts

Copyright ©2010  ArcSoft Inc.  All rights reserved.